Pictured here is Vince Nico Ocampo of the Philippines. He is holding a Fox Model 240 bassoon that Boston Woodwind Society awarded to him in recognition of his talent, motivation, and dedication to the highest musical values.



Boston Woodwind Society has established merit awards to honor the artistry and achievements of five legendary woodwind musicians. The awards are presented annually to outstanding young students hoping to fulfill their dreams of entering the world of professional players. Selected through open competitions by woodwind artists and faculty members of leading schools of music, each recipient of an award receives a cash prize of $1,000. The purpose of these awards is to encourage and to recognize achievements of high standards of musical integrity and artistry as exemplified by the artists for whom the awards have been named. To learn more, click on a name or instrument below.

Artists We Honor Award Recipients
Doriot Anthony Dwyer Flute
Ralph Gomberg Oboe
Kenneth Radnofsky Saxophone
Sherman Walt Bassoon
Harold Wright Clarinet